2012 Concerts

Way over 100 shows in 2012- a personal record!

The Smithereens Ventura Theatre Indie West Fest 7/28/2012

Indie West Fest 2012 Featuring, The SmithereensDSC05711DSC05817

 

The Smithereens are awesome.   I always considered them a great band from a bad period of time in music. 

I’ve seen them in concert a few times and they are an excellent live band with a catalog of great songs.  Plus, they are easily one of the most fan-friendly bands out there.

I met them after the first show I saw.  They said they’d sit around and sign whatever was brought to them.   I happened to have one of their CDs in my car, so I went and grabbed it and they autographed it for me.  Totally cool guys. 

This band has been around forever- for years and years. There are 3 original members and only one “replacement player”.   Severo Jornacion started covering for the original bass player (Mike Mesaros) around 15 years ago. Nicknamed “The Thrilla”, he then became an official member of the band almost ten years later.  They are a solid quartet and they rocked the Ventura Theater.

Pat DiNizio
Jim Babjak
Severo “The Thrilla” Jornacion
Dennis Diken

Smithereens around 3 years ago in Agoura:

IMG_1423IMG_1427IMG_1430

I saw them again the following and that was another great show with some wild moments.   Jim and “The Thrilla” walked into the crowd and jammed among the audience.

IMG_1109IMG_1107

The coolest things during that show was seeing Jim pounding beer throughout the show and only getting better on the guitar as a result.  At the end of a phenomenal display of drumming, I caught one of the drumsticks.  It was completely trashed to the point that he must have used it the entire show.    Jim was probably pretty trashed by the end as well.  That drum stick is probably around here somewhere  along with my autographed CD.

When I went to Vegas in January, I saw Pat perform his solo show at the Riviera.  I was right in front of him, so it was almost as if I was the only person there.   He was so cool, and engaging.   He told stories and jammed and then, at the conclusion of the show, he walked around and personally thanked everyone in the audience.   I didn’t get any pictures, but it sure was cool.    His bass player and drummer were also phenomenal.   One of the coolest shows ever…

Tonight, I took a long nap and got a late start heading to Ventura.   I ended up at the Anacapa Brewing Company, where I enjoyed two beers and a killer meal while I watched the clock.  

I got to the show right around 11:00.  They were sound checking, which was fun and the show actually started just a few minutes after my arrival.  

DSC05706DSC05764DSC05806DSC05726

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jim came out and rocked with the crowd again:

IMG_1920IMG_1916DSC05789

 

 

They walked out and played their hits, some new songs, some Beatles and some Who.   They all seem to have fun and really it rubs off on the crowd.   I haven’t been to a show with a vibe this good in a long time.

IMG_1898

IMG_1932

  

 

They have a fairly new album- 2011 and this was their only California appearance this year.  Score!!!

A few years back, they released a few tribute albums for the Who and the Beatles (Meet The Smithereens! – a remake of Meet The Beatles! and The Smithereens Play Tommy). The band just released their 17th album and first original in 12 years.

 DSC05821

“Sorry” and “One Look at You” and “Sorry” are two of the stand out tracks.

 

DSC05818

I knew to expect a great performance, but this was even more exciting that I had planned. After the show, I said hi to Dennis and commented on the this drum sticks he uses- he said “Yup- 7A”. Cool guy.   Jim was nowhere to be found and The Thrilla was busy with friends.

IMG_1933IMG_1893DSC05825DSC05832

DSC05829

Pat ran outside for a tar bar, so I went out and said hello/good show/ saw you in Vegas, blah blah, took a quick picture and headed home so I could type this…  This is the most fun I’ve had at a show in a while….  

DSC05837DSC05840

 

THE SMITHEREENS INDIE WEST FEST VENTURA THEATER 7/29/2012- ONLY CALIFORNIA APPEARANCE!

<h1>THE SMITHEREENS INDIE WEST FEST VENTURA THEATER 7/29/2012- ONLY CALIFORNIA APPEARANCE!</h1>

 

 

DSC05707DSC05724

DSC05712DSC05713DSC05718DSC05714

<h2>THE SMITHEREENS INDIE WEST FEST VENTURA THEATER 7/29/2012- ONLY CALIFORNIA APPEARANCE!</h2>

 

DSC05729DSC05733DSC05745DSC05804IMG_1928IMG_1900thesmithereens

<h3>THE SMITHEREENS INDIE WEST FEST VENTURA THEATER 7/29/2012- ONLY CALIFORNIA APPEARANCE!</h3>

 

DSC05774

2 comments on “The Smithereens Ventura Theatre Indie West Fest 7/28/2012

  1. Pingback: TOP CONCERTS 2012 « 2012 Concerts

  2. Pingback: 10 More Shows This Year and It’s a Record!! « 2012 Concerts

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 07/29/2012 by in 2012 SHOWS, INDIE, ROCK.
