2012 Concerts

Way over 100 shows in 2012- a personal record!

GREGG ALLMAN AERO THEATER DISCUSSING HIS NEW BOOK- MY CROSS TO BEAR 5/15/2012 SANTA MONICA

IMG_0299

DSC03776

Book Tour:

;

IMG_0306IMG_0307IMG_0308IMG_0321IMG_0322IMG_4276IMG_4255IMG_4257IMG_4259IMG_4260IMG_4262IMG_4264IMG_4275

I’ve seen the Allman Brothers twice in concert (once a really long time ago and again rather recently). ; Both times, I left a little disappointed. ; the first time, they were blown away by the opener, Jeff Healey and Dickie Betts quite possibly hit the worst note ever on a slide guitar solo (the entire crowd moaned in agony). ; The last show was great for a while and then sort of fizzed out. ; Not even a guest appearance by Tom Petty later in the set made it any better for me. ; ; ; ; Each time, I’m not sure if it was the crowd, the vibe, the set lists, the overall energy or something else, but I found myself a little depressed after each concert. ; Regardless, Gregg is a true musical icon and I was very interested in hearing him speak about his life and music. ; ; Again, last night, I left feeling less than “stoked” about what I had just experienced. ; He seemed really worn out- and perhaps rightfully so, having taped an appearance on Conan earlier in the day ; ; ; At the Aero Theater, i laughed a bit and there were a few great stories, but the lighting, the lack of energy and the crowd sort of bummed me out. ; ; The Q&A at the end was rather pathetic (and I’ve seen some of the worst Q&A’s known to man)- after a few questions, comments and other attempts by star-struck audience members to seem witty, Gregg got up and went to the lobby of the theater for his book signing. ; ; He seems pretty old and frail. ; It made me feel bad when he passed by me. ; ; ; ; When I got home, I watched the television segment he taped for the Conan O’Brien show. ; ; That was much better all the way around- he seemed a lot more upbeat, humorous and “with it”. ; ; It was still a good experience to go see him talk about his book (and I’ll most likely look back on it as a fond memory in my long list of musical experiences), but I can’t help but laugh at the fact I was on hand to his second best performance of the day…

HERE’S A GOOD REVIEW OF THE EVENT: http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/gregg-allman-cross-to-bear-alan-light-new-book-325679

Some footage from his day:

http://teamcoco.com/embed/v/34721 http://teamcoco.com/embed/v/34722

9 comments on “GREGG ALLMAN AERO THEATER DISCUSSING HIS NEW BOOK- MY CROSS TO BEAR 5/15/2012 SANTA MONICA

  1. Pingback: Concert Buddies 2012 « 2012 Concerts

  2. Pingback: Concert Buddies 2012 | 2013 Concerts

  3. David Dupe
    10/09/2012

    Great blog but maybe you should get up and stand up

  4. Pingback: Good backlinks tool

  5. Pingback: Fair backlinking service

  6. Pingback: Solid backlinking tool

  7. Pingback: Perfect backlinking system

  8. Pingback: Fair SEM software

  9. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 05/15/2012 by in 2012 SHOWS.
